another day, another day

images wwI tried acupuncture the other day. I went to an alternative therapy place in the city; this was not a fancy spa, but a small clinic run by a pleasant soft-toned young man.  The clinic charges were nominal and voluntary between $15-$40.

The small back room had dimmed lighting, meditation music and several lounging chairs with pillows and soft white blankets. When I came, there were two people already ensconced in their cocoons.

The acupuncturist took my history, listed my complaints (mainly nausea and anxiety), and did a cursory exam of my arms and legs feeling for various tender points. The most tender was the inner left knee area, not sure what that means?  He inserted approximately 5-10 needles in each arm and each leg including hands and feet; added a few on the top of my head and one in my left collar bone.  There was an small initial prick and then no pain from the needles.  Then he wrapped me up snug as a bug in a rug and told me to relax or take a nap for about an hour.

images vWhen he returned I was surprised that the time had passed so quickly but I was relaxed and felt good.  The room had filled quietly with people.

I am not sure how beneficial the afternoon treatment was as I started that particular day feeling well and almost normal after many weeks of bed rest and weakness.  Overall it was a pleasant experience and I would try it again.  Although as soon as I get my strength back I am going to schedule a massage – my favorite therapy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

